Leigh Goff

Writing Enchanting Ever-Afters ♥

Bookaholic’s Fix Review: Disenchanted by Leigh Goff

Review of Disenchanted

Cover Smaller

This one follows in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet. Two young people on the opposite sides of a massive feud, struggling with a love that could destroy them.

For anyone who knows of my obsession with Shakespeare, it shouldn’t come as any surprise that I really enjoyed this book. Now, I don’t want anyone mistaking my meaning here. While this story does have some of the elements present in Romeo and Juliet, it is also vastly different. Much like many of the books and movies that have rehashed some of the Bard’s tales (Lion King, Ten Things I Hate About You, etc.), it takes the basic outline and creates a wonderful, new story.

I found the story to be well written. It was filled with rich descriptions that enhanced the magical portion of the story’s world. I found some of the supernatural elements of the story to be crafted slightly different than some of the others I’ve read. This gave it a refreshing point of view that I appreciate- it helps keep the genre from getting too cliche.

I loved the way Goff used the idea of the star-crossed lovers, the pair that succumbed to their families’ hatred, as a cautionary tale for those that came after and enhanced it with a tale of powerful magic and intense hatred. For a young girl to navigate her way through a world with so many obstacles and try to overcome insurmountable odds… truly amazing.

In a way it is typical coming of age story. Sophie is reaching the point in her life where things are going to start changing and those changes are going to shape who she becomes but her journey is a little different than that of a normal girl- which is to be expected since she is a witch. She starts off with only the most basic knowledge and though she longs to know more, the answers aren’t easily found. With a little help from the spirit world she learns more and more about her world, her past, and events that threaten her future. Enemies are present at every turn and she struggles to make the right decision before it’s too late.

This was a very creative and enthralling book which is why I am giving this one a perfect 10. I really loved this one and I can’t wait to read more from this author.

Reposted courtesy of Bookaholic’s Fix Blog

A Bookaholic's Fix

Blurb:

A forbidden love, a dark curse, an impossible choice.

Orphaned sixteen-year-old Sophie Goodchild is an outcast among the ordinaries and her coven, but not because she’s untalented. Descended from a powerful Wethersfield witch, her spellcasting gift is awkwardly emerging, but that’s the least of her worries. The boy she’s forbidden to fall for, a descendant of the man who condemned her ancestor to hang, carries a dark secret that could destroy them both unless Sophie learns how to tap into the mysterious power of her diamond bloodcharm. Suspenseful, dark, romantic, and brimming with old magic, Disenchanted captures the intrigue of New England’s witchlore.

Review:

This one follows in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet. Two young people on the opposite sides of a massive feud, struggling with a love that could destroy them.

For anyone who knows of my obsession with Shakespeare, it shouldn’t come as any surprise that…

View original post 353 more words

Author: Leigh Goff

My passion is writing young adult fiction, especially if there are witches and romance involved. My debut novel, DISENCHANTED, a story about a young witch who falls for her family's enemy and risks everything to break a true love curse is available through Mirror World Publishing, Amazon, and B&N. My next book, BEWITCHING HANNAH, a YA Fantasy, will arrive in Fall 2017.

Comments are closed.