Leigh Goff

Writing Enchanting Ever-Afters ♥

Books

Unknown-8

BEWITCHING HANNAH

(Mirror World Publishing, Coming Soon!)

Young Adult Fiction/Fantasy

Magic is a dangerous ally.

When an ancient prophecy reveals the rise of a young, powerful Chesapeake witch and the impending death of another, sixteen-year-old Hannah Fitzgerald realizes she can no longer repress the magic that has taken away so much. She chooses to play the game of fate, but without knowing whom her true rival is, she isn’t certain she’ll survive, and if she loses, she may lose everything including the star-crossed boy who loves her.


 disenchanted-2 copyDISENCHANTED

(Mirror World Publishing, Available Now)

Young Adult Fiction/Fantasy

A forbidden love. A dark curse. An impossible choice…

From Amazon reviews…

“This book has everything that draws me into a good YA book and a little more.”
“The herbalist magic and edgy spells casted and crafted by the young heroine are wonderfully creative and imaginative.”
“I fell in love with the story and characters right away.”

Amazon | BN.com | IndieBound

Follow sixteen-year-old Sophie Goodchild, the fictional descendant of a real Wethersfield witch, as she finds forbidden love and with it, a centuries-old true love curse. She will have to uncover dark secrets from both of their families’ wicked pasts and risk everything, including her soul, to save them, but it will take more than that.

Bookaholic’s Fix Review: Disenchanted by Leigh Goff

Review of Disenchanted

This one follows in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet. Two young people on the opposite sides of a massive feud, struggling with a love that could destroy them.

For anyone who knows of my obsession with Shakespeare, it shouldn’t come as any surprise that I really enjoyed this book. Now, I don’t want anyone mistaking my meaning here. While this story does have some of the elements present in Romeo and Juliet, it is also vastly different. Much like many of the books and movies that have rehashed some of the Bard’s tales (Lion King, Ten Things I Hate About You, etc.), it takes the basic outline and creates a wonderful, new story.

I found the story to be well written. It was filled with rich descriptions that enhanced the magical portion of the story’s world. I found some of the supernatural elements of the story to be crafted slightly different than some of the others I’ve read. This gave it a refreshing point of view that I appreciate- it helps keep the genre from getting too cliche.

I loved the way Goff used the idea of the star-crossed lovers, the pair that succumbed to their families’ hatred, as a cautionary tale for those that came after and enhanced it with a tale of powerful magic and intense hatred. For a young girl to navigate her way through a world with so many obstacles and try to overcome insurmountable odds… truly amazing.

In a way it is typical coming of age story. Sophie is reaching the point in her life where things are going to start changing and those changes are going to shape who she becomes but her journey is a little different than that of a normal girl- which is to be expected since she is a witch. She starts off with only the most basic knowledge and though she longs to know more, the answers aren’t easily found. With a little help from the spirit world she learns more and more about her world, her past, and events that threaten her future. Enemies are present at every turn and she struggles to make the right decision before it’s too late.

This was a very creative and enthralling book which is why I am giving this one a perfect 10. I really loved this one and I can’t wait to read more from this author.

Reposted courtesy of Bookaholic’s Fix Blog

Miss Phyre’s Review of Disenchanted–5 Stars
             I don’t know where to start telling you how much I loved this book! With shelves filled with witchcraft stories, fiction and historical alike, I think Disenchanted will forever stand out as one of my favorites. Sophie, even while being supernatural, remains human. Thought she fights between her head and heart she ultimately makes her decisions based on her heart. That’s something I think we can all relate to.
             One of the things I loved about Disenchanted is it’s parallels to Romeo And Juliet. Along with all my “witchy” books, I love to read classics and Romeo And Juliet has always been a favorite. Leigh Goff merges the two worlds in such a way that I won’t ever be able to read R And J without wondering where all the spells are! She also found the one thing that R And J was missing…a Hottie McTottie Brit with a rebellious streak 😉 Another thing that drew me so far into the Disenchanted world was all of the subtle hints of real history woven in. It just makes you believe that this actually happened and that they just tried to keep it all quiet. I mean, you can even search the last name of ‘Hottie McTottie’ and you’ll pull up Salem Witch Trial articles!
             I know this review is kind of short, but it’s late (because I could not put this book down and I had to talk about it right away!) Overall I’m giving this book 5 Stars and a permanent place with my favorite books. Leigh Goff writes with such vivid imagery that you finish reading it and could swear you witnessed the events firsthand. She is definitely an author to keep you’re eye on. I think we are going to see some amazing things from her.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s